Wednesday, April 22, 2015

Wichita Chamber Chorale Composition Winner


Please see the following announcement from the Wichita Chamber Chorale concerning the winner of this year's Kansas Choral Composition Prize.

Have a great day!

Tiffani N. Thompson
KCDA Webmaster

The Wichita Chamber Chorale is pleased to announce Geoff Wilcken of Lawrence, Kansas as the inaugural winner of the Kansas Choral Composition Prize. The announcement was made on March 27, 2015 preceding the Wichita Chamber Chorale’s spring concert at First United Methodist Church, Wichita. Mr Wilcken attended the concert and was presented a check for $1,000 by Roger Eastwood, Wichita Chamber Chorale President, and Lori Supinie, Owner and President of Senseney Music.
Music scores were submitted anonymously to a panel of judges which consisted of Dr. Dean Roush, Wichita State University; Dr. Leonard Enns, University of Waterloo; Dr. Deanna Joseph, Georgia State University; and Robert Simpson, Houston Chamber Choir. The applicants showed clear and verifiable ties to Kansas by being a native Kansan or a current resident, or by being a student studying at a Kansas institution.
Geoff Wilcken is an active composer, conductor, organist, and pianist, and is currently pursuing a doctoral degree in composition at the University of Kansas. He began his study of composition in 1982 under Drs. Jeffrey Prater and Gary White, both of Iowa State University. He won the Music Teachers National Association composition competition in 1985 and again in 1986. Geoff completed a Bachelor of Music degree at Iowa State University in composition (1995), and subsequently finished his Master of Music degree in choral conducting under Simon Carrington at the University of Kansas (1998).
The winning composition will be performed by the Wichita Chamber Chorale during the 2015-2016 concert season. Dr Mark Bartel is Artistic Director and Conductor of the Chorale. The news release and photo is featured on the Wichita Chamber Chorale website, The KCCP winner will be announced in the Chorus America publication Voices, the Kansas Choral Directors Association publication Choral Range, and other various media outlets.
The Wichita Chamber Chorale is a 501(c)3 nonprofit performing arts organization in its 37th season. Roger Eastwood is President of the Wichita Chamber Chorale. Senseney Music, Inc is located in Wichita and is a full- service retail music store. Lori Supinie is Owner & President.
page1image18800 page1image18960
The only program of its kind in the state of Kansas, this initiative was founded by the Wichita Chamber Chorale and co-sponsored by Senseney Music, Inc. The Kansas Choral Composition Prize (KCCP) fosters original choral music of the highest quality, with the intention of giving the winner(s) a high-profile performance of their work by the Wichita Chamber Chorale, in addition to a monetary prize.
Artistic Staff
Dr Mark Bartel,
Artistic Director and Conductor

Steve Bixler,
Personnel and Stage Manager

Julie Warkentin, Accompanist
Board of Directors
Advisory Board
Roger Eastwood, President Matthew Hanne
Bill Loyd, Secretary
Adam Manlove, Treasurer

Debbie S Hall Wyatt Sheeder Mark Simmons Dr Charles Turley Anna Uhlig
Dr Rodney Miller
Dr Pina Mozzani Thomas Rhoads, Esq Dr Michael Pohlenz,

Bob Scott Denny Senseney Vern Zielke
Music Director and Conductor Emeritus 

No comments:

Post a Comment